Past Seminars

Fall 2012 Geometry & Topology Seminars

  • Monday, September 10, 2012
  • Weiwei Wu (MSU)
  • "Spherical Lagrangians via symplectic packing"
  • Wednesday, September 12, 2012
  • Zhongtao Wu (Caltech)
  • "An introduction to the rational genus of a knot"
  • Monday, September 17, 2012
  • Selahi Durusoy (MSU)
  • "Some properties of the space of Crowell states"
  • Tuesday, September 18, 2012
  • Richard Hind (Notre Dame)
  • "Symplectic folding and isotopies of polydisks"
  • Tuesday, September 25, 2012
  • Ben Weinkove (UCSD)
  • "The Ricci flow and complex geometry"
  • Note: RTG Lecture
  • Tuesday, September 25, 2012
  • Ben Weinkove (UCSD)
  • "The Chern-Ricci flow"
  • Note: Special GA seminar
  • Wednesday, September 26, 2012
  • Dick Canary (UM)
  • "Dynamics on character varieties"
  • Wenesday, October 3, 2012
  • Matthew Strom Borman (Chicago)
  • "The size of a Weinstein neighborhood of a Lagrangian"
  • Tuesday, October 9, 2012
  • Christine Breiner (Columbia)
  • "Structure of embedded minimal surfaces with infinite total curvature"
  • Wednesday, Wednesday 17, 2012
  • Dieter Kotschick (Munchen / IAS)
  • "Characteristic numbers in algebraic varieties"
  • Saturday, October 27, 2012 and
  • Sunday, October 28, 2012
  • Midwest Topology Conference
  • Conference web page
  • Monday, October 29, 2012
  • Le Thang (Georgia Tech)
  • On the growth rate of homology torsion of finite coverings"
  • Tuesday, October 30, 2012
  • Tullia Dymarz (Wisconsin)
  • "Comparing quasi-symmetric and bi-Lipschitz maps"
  • Wednesday, October 31, 2012
  • Shelly Harvey (Rice)
  • "Combinatorial spatial graph Floer homology"
  • Tuesday, November 6, 2012, and
  • Stephan Friedl (Koln)
  • "Some recent developments in 3-manifold topology"
  • Wednesday, November 7, 2012,
  • Stephan Friedl (Koln)
  • "The virtual fibering theorem for 3-manifolds"
  • Monday, November 12, 2012
  • Mark McLean (Simons Center / Aberdeen)
  • "Positive versus non-positive log Kodaira dimension in symplectic geometry"
  • Tuesday, November 13, 2012
  • Jeff Streets (UC Irvine)
  • "Geometric flows in complex geometry"
  • Wednesday, November 14, 2012
  • Jeff Streets (UC Irvine)
  • "Curve shortening: an introduction to geometric flows"
  • Thursday, November 15, 2012
  • Daniel Smith (MSU)
  • "Stability of the almost hermitian curvature flow"
  • Monday, November 19, 2012
  • Joel Fish (MIT)
  • "From Gromov to the moon"
  • Wednesday, November 28, 2012
  • Mark Hagen (UM)
  • "Relatively hyperbolic cubulated groups"
  • Noriyuki Hamada (MSU)
  • "An interpretation of the geography problem on symplectic 4-manifolds via the mapping class groups"
  • 4:10 - 5:00 p.m. in C-304 WH

FALL 2012 STUDENT GEOMETRY & TOPOLOGY SEMINARS

  • Thursday, September 06, 2012
  • Sven Prufer (MSU)
  • "Polyfolds"
  • Thursday, September 13, 2012
  • Stephan Daniel Burton (MSU)
  • "Unknotting tunnels of hyperbolic tunnel number n manifolds"
  • Thursday, September 20, 2012
  • Faramarz Vafaee (MSU)
  • "Cosmetic surgery on knots"
  • Thursday, September 27, 2012
  • David Krcatovich (MSU)
  • "Heegard Floer homology, lattice homology, and covering spaces"
  • Thursday, October 4, 2012
  • Daniel Smith (MSU)
  • "Geometric flows on Hermitian manifolds"
  • Thursday, October 11, 2012
  • Christine Lee (MSU)
  • "Graphical calculus of the colored Jones polynomial"
  • Thursday, October 18, 2012
  • Adam Giambrone (MSU)
  • "A Markov-type theorem for one-vertex ribbon graphs coming from links"
  • Thursday, October 25, 2012
  • Cheryl Balm (MSU)
  • "Generalized crossing changes in knots"
  • Thursday, November 1, 2012
  • Luke Williams (MSU)
  • "Principle bundles"
  • Thursday, November 8, 2012
  • Akos Nagy (MSU)
  • "Topology in solid state physics"
  • Kyungbae Park (MSU)
  • Heegard Floer homology of a plumbing of higher genus surfaces"
  • Samuel Zhong-En Lin (MSU)
  • Conformal deformation of scalar curvature"

Past Seminars

Contact

Department of Mathematics
Michigan State University
619 Red Cedar Road
East Lansing, MI 48824

Fax: (517) 432-1562

College of Natural Science