Past Seminars

Fall 2013 Geometry & Topology Seminars

  • Student Geometry & Topology, Tuesday, September 03, 2013
  • Manousos Maridakis (MSU)
  • "A unified approch for vortices and Seiberg-Witten monopoles"
  • Geometry Seminar, Tuesday, September 03, 2013
  • David Duncan (MSU)
  • "An introduction to the quilted Atiyah-Floer conjecture"
  • Geometry & Topology, Wednesday, September 04, 2013
  • Yoshihiro Fukumoto (Indiana)
  • "On negative-definite cobordisms among lens spaces"
  • Topology Seminar, Monday, September 09, 2013
  • Faramarz Vafaee (MSU)
  • "On the knot Floer homology of twisted torus knots"
  • Student Geometry & Topology, Tuesday, September 10, 2013
  • Kyungbae Park (MSU)
  • "Knot concordance group and Heegaard Floer theory"
  • Topology Seminar, Monday, September 16, 2013
  • Kyungbae Park (MSU)
  • "On independence of iterated Whitehead doubles in the knot concordance group"
  • Student Geometry & Topology, Tuesday, September 17, 2013
  • Adam Giambrone
  • "Combinatorics of link diagrams and volume"
  • Geometry Seminar, Tuesday, September 17, 2013
  • Andrew Zimmer (U Michigan)
  • "Rigidity of complex convex divisible sets"
  • Geometry & Topology Seminar, Wednesday, September 18, 2013
  • Andrew Donald (MSU)
  • "Embedding 3-manifolds smoothly in S^4"
  • Student Geometry/Topology, Tuesday, September 24, 2013
  • David Duncan (MSU)
  • "An introduction to Gromov compactness"
  • Topology, Monday, September 30, 2013
  • Eli Grigsby (Boston College)
  • "Braids and sutured annular Khovanov homology"
  • Student Geometry/Topology, Tuesday, October 1, 2013
  • Christine Lee (MSU)
  • "Degrees of the colored Jones polynomials and the combinatorics of Kauffman"
  • Geometry, Tuesday, October 1, 2013
  • Tom Parker (MSU)
  • "Counting holomorphic curves in dimension 6: the Gopakumar-Vafa conjecture"
  • Topology, Monday, October 7, 2013
  • Selman Akbulut (MSU)
  • "Symplectic plugs"
  • Student Geometry/Topology, Tuesday, October 8, 2013
  • Akos Nagy (MSU)
  • "On families of Dirac operators
  • Geometry, Tuesday, October 8, 2013
  • Tim Nguyen (Simons Center)
  • "Topological invariants and volume forms from the path integral"
  • Geometry & Topology, Wednesday, October 9, 2013
  • Juanita Pinzon (Indiana)
  • "Traceless SU(2) representations of 2-stranded tangles"
  • Colloquium, Thursday, October 10, 2013
  • Karsten Grove (Notre Dame)
  • "Positive curvature, symmetry, and Tits geometry"
  • Student Geometry/Topology, Tuesday, October 15, 2013
  • Faramarz Vafaee (MSU)
  • "Berge-Gabai Knots and L-space satellite operations"
  • Geometry Seminar, Tuesday, October 15, 2013
  • Gabor Szekelyhidi (Notre Dame)
  • "The J-flow and stability"
  • Geometry Seminar, Tuesday, October 22, 2013
  • Liviu Nicolaescu (Notre Dame)
  • "Random Morse functions and spectral geometry"
  • Topology Seminar, Monday, October 28, 2013
  • John Baldwin (Boston College)
  • "Contact invariants for manifolds with boundary in sutured monopole homology"
  • Student Geometry & Topology, Tuesday, October 29, 2013
  • Samuel Lin (MSU)
  • "Introduction to symmetric spaces
  • Geometry & Topology, Friday, November 1, 2013
  • Christopher Woodward (Rutgers)
  • "Gauged Floer theory"
  • Student Geometry & Topology, Tuesday, November 05, 2013
  • Ustun Yildirim (MSU)
  • "Gluck twisting 4-manifolds with odd intersection form"
  • Geometry Seminar, Tuesday, November 5, 2013
  • Craig J. Sutton (Dartmouth)
  • "On the Poisson relation for compact symmetric spaces"
  • Geometry & Topology, Wednesday, November 6, 2013
  • Chris Davis (Wisconsin at Eau Claire)
  • "Satellite operators as a group action"
  • Topology Seminar, Monday, November 11, 2013
  • Keiko Kawamuro (U. Iowa)
  • "On overtwisted disks"
  • Student Geometry & Topology, Tuesday, November 12, 2013
  • Stephan Burton (MSU)
  • "Constructing a quantum invariant of 3-manifolds"
  • Geometry Seminar, Tuesday, November 12, 2013
  • Andrew Cooper (North Carolina State)
  • "Lagrangian submanifolds under the mean curvature flow"
  • Topology Seminar, Monday, November 18, 2013
  • Weiwei Wu (MSU)
  • "Relative symplectic caps"
  • Student Geometry & Topology, Tuesday, November 19, 2013
  • David Krcatovich (MSU)
  • TBA
  • Geometry Seminar, Tuesday, November 19, 2013
  • Peter Weigel (Purdue)
  • "Positive loops and orderability in contact geometry"
  • Geometry & Topology, Wednesday, November 20, 2013
  • Chris Cornwell (Duke)
  • "Knot contact homology and quantum topology"
  • Topology Seminar, Monday, November 25, 2013
  • Selman Akbulut (MSU)
  • "Algebraic topology of manifolds with G2 structure"
  • Student Geometry & Topology, Tuesday, November 26, 2013
  • Luke Williams (MSU)
  • TBA
  • Geometry Seminar, Tuesday, November 26, 2013
  • Manousos Maridakis (MSU)
  • "Concentrating Spinors"
  • Topology Seminar, Monday, December 02, 2013
  • Alisa Keating (MIT)
  • "Tori in four-dimensional Milnor fibers"
  • Geometry Seminar, Tuesday, December 03, 2013
  • Siu-Cheong Lau (Harvard)
  • "Generalized SYZ mirror symmetry"
  • Geometry & Topology, Wednesday, December 04, 2013
  • Liam Watson (Glasgow)
  • "Khovanov homology and the symmetry group of a knot"

Past Seminars

Contact

Department of Mathematics
Michigan State University
619 Red Cedar Road
East Lansing, MI 48824

Fax: (517) 432-1562

College of Natural Science