Department of Mathematics

Graduate Testimonials

Ben Wood

Ben Wood

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2012

Research Manager – Statistical Methods, Measurement Science, Nielsen

“My desire to solve challenging problems drove me to pursue mathematics; my desire to manage a technical team led me to the PSM. The PSM in Industrial Mathematics at Michigan State University gave me the right experiences to earn a management track position in Data Science, and continues to pay dividends. With a balance of mathematical knowledge, computational experience, and business training provided by the PSM, I am able to solve increasingly challenging mathematical and business problems with a perspective unique among my peers. I am currently managing development of a new behavioral modeling technique at a leading market research firm.”

Bradley W. Bykowicz

Bradley W. Bykowicz

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2009

Associate Actuary, Corporate Risk Department, Accident Fund

“I graduated in 2009 from Michigan State University with my Master's of Science in Industrial Mathematics. The MSIM program greatly prepared me for success in industry. Not only did I develop a strong quantitative and analytic background, but I also improved my communication skills and became a well-rounded problem solver. The practical, industry-emphasis of the educational experience provided by the MSIM program made my transition into the working world very easy, and made me a competitive candidate for a number of positions out of school. While I am an actuary by trade, the versatility provided to me by the MSIM experience has allowed me to pursue a number of interesting projects outside of my primary field.”

Camille Archer

Camille Archer

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2012

Director of Training, Institute for Cyber-Enabled Research (iCER), Michigan State University (MSU)

“I entered the PSM program in Industrial Mathematics after working for three years as a high school mathematics/science teacher – two of which were spent working part-time as an Assessment Manager. In May 2012, I graduated from Michigan State University's PSM program in Industrial Mathematics and joined the team at L& S Associates Inc. as an Information Manager. I later returned to my alma mater in 2014 to coordinate the high performance computing education and training efforts at MSU’s iCER. Many of the communication and collaboration skills I use today I learned through my exposure as a graduate student to collaborative class and industry projects as well as the certificate program in Project Management. The later being a co-requisite for graduation from the PSMIM program.

In addition to a solid mathematics component, the flexibility of the program allowed me to pursue my interests in statistics and data mining, which were very useful in my role as an Information Manager. I can truly say that the academic and professional education I received through the PSM program in Industrial Mathematics at MSU broadened my career prospects.”

Elizabeth Carter

Elizabeth Carter

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2013

Senior Staff Game Designer, WMS Gaming

“I graduated from Michigan State University's PSM program in Industrial Mathematics in May 2013 and started at WMS Gaming in October 2013. I joined the PSM program because it offers a unique blend of pure mathematics, applied mathematics, and project management, with a strong emphasis on communication and personal professional development. Throughout the program students learn useful skills via the courses but they also learn how to create a strong projection of themselves, which is often something both young and experienced professionals are lacking. Much of my job entails communicating with foreign studios, so being able to concisely summarize all of the relevant information into a single email helps cut down on time lost due to the time difference and language barrier. The program also helps students develop confidence in their public speaking and presenting skills, which is useful in almost any employment setting.”

Chad Stripling

Chad Stripling

PSM Industrial Mathematics; Michigan State University, 2014

Data Analyst, Dunnhumby

“Coming out of my undergraduate studies I had several internships and research experiences that helped me decide that I wanted to use my mathematical background in a business setting. I did not know however what type of opportunities there was for a mathematically minded person who wanted to work in industry. The Industrial Mathematics program at Michigan State not only allowed me to continue to develop my mathematical and business acumen but also allowed me to gain valuable work experience. I was able to work with companies and solve real business needs as part of the program which was extremely helpful in better understanding what I wanted to do for a career and finding a job upon completion of the program. The experiences I had and the knowledge I gained during my time in the Industrial Mathematics program gave me a strong foundation to start my career and has helped set me apart from my peers while beginning my career in marketing and customer science analytics. The Industrial Mathematics program at Michigan State was one of the best decisions I have ever made in terms of growing as mathematician and business professional, while gaining the background necessary to be successful in the marketplace.”

Cody Dean

Cody Dean

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2010

Sr. Business Intelligence Analyst, Amway Corporation

“I graduated from Michigan State University's PSM program in Industrial Mathematics in May 2010 and joined Amway in July 2010. The group that I came into at Amway had physicists, electrical and computer engineers, and bio-chemists, to name a few, and needless to say the group was extremely diverse. By allowing me to take graduate level classes in so many different disciplines, the Industrial Mathematics program made me a very well-rounded employee capable of collaborating with these individuals right out of the gate. I was able to effectively communicate with each discipline and the learning curve to get caught up to speed was quite low. Now that I have been with the company for 5 years, the mathematical and statistical background that I developed at MSU has put me in a role where people routinely seek me out for my expertise. I think one of the most beneficial pieces of the program was the business training that we received. I can effectively communicate my ideas to others in different areas of the company and I am constantly praised for my communication and presentation abilities. My experience in the Industrial Mathematics program at MSU helped me land a career that I absolutely love.”

Cody Stripling

Cody Stripling

PSM Industrial mathematics, Michigan State University, 2012

Senior Analyst, Dunnhumby

“Michigan State University’s Professional Science Master’s program in Industrial Mathematics allowed me the opportunity to gain a solid foundation in mathematics, statistics, and data analysis before beginning my career. I graduated in 2010 and began my job at dunnhumby as an analyst. My breadth of previous experience and work has helped grow in my position where I analyze, interpret, model, and manipulate dat. The classes and real world projects that were available to me because of the PSM program provided a great basis for the challenges I come across in my day to day work.”

Curt Baragar

Curt Baragar

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2006

Mathematics Instructor, GRCC

“After graduating from MSU’s Industrial Mathematics program I was working as a consulting engineer at a telecommunications firm. Later I accepted an offer for a teaching position at a local community college. The wide variety of applied mathematics from various fields that I was exposed to in the PSM program gave me a great appreciation for the seemingly endless types of problems that are being solved using mathematics. This, along with the real-world experience gained from our projects class, makes it very easy for me to answer the inevitable student question, ‘When are we ever going to use this?’ ”

Mikhaylov

Dmitry Mikhaylov

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2014

"Obtaining PSM in Industrial Mathematics at Michigan State has been a very beneficial experience. First, the program offered a big variety of cognates. I took courses in statistics, marketing, and entrepreneurship. Other options included engineering, supply chain, and computer science. Second, one of the program's requirement was a participation in the research project for local industries. This appeared to be very beneficial as I was able to immediately apply my newly obtained knowledge and skills. Finally, the program paid a special attention to teamwork and professionalism, both of which are necessary in any business environment. I would definitely recommend applying to this program for those who look to deepen their academic background, but at the same time are focused on the careers in business.”

Ian Rhynard

Ian Rhynard

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2012

Emerging Leaders Associate, Nielsen

“I always loved mathematics but as I followed my passion in college I struggled to find ways to apply it in my day to day work life. The Professional Science Master's in Industrial Mathematics at Michigan State University provided me with the computational tools and professional experience that I needed to excel in industry and apply those skills on a daily basis. This program has provided me with opportunities in a variety of areas including mechanical engineering, data mining, and supply chain management that I otherwise would not have been qualified for. Everyone who wants to apply mathematics in their profession needs to consider this program as a critical stepping stone towards their career.”

Ina Stashonsky

Ina Stashonsky

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2010

Anesthesiologist Assistant, Grady Memorial Hospital

“After graduating from the Professional Science Master's (PSM) degree program in Industrial Mathematics, I began my career at Deloitte & Touche, LLP as a consultant. Specifically, I worked in the IT audit department analyzing figures and reports produced by my client. The skills obtained in the PSM program were useful to my profession because of the programming that was required and the type of analysis used to test samples from a large data base. In addition, I was prepared with a strong work ethic and ability to communicate well with others.

My career path took a turn, as I chose to seek a profession as an anesthesiologist assistant. Even though my ‘office’ is now the operating room, I have been easily able to transfer the skills obtained from the PSM program. Attention to detail and analysis – as was emphasized in the PSM Industrial Mathematics program – is critical to a successful outcome in both professions. My background is different from many of my colleagues but I see that as an asset to the anesthesia team and am able to contribute my unique skills each day at work.”

James F. Kelly

James F. Kelly

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2005

Sr. Software Engineer – Simulation Group, Exa Corporation

“I graduated from MSU's PSM program in Industrial Mathematics in August 2005 and stayed at MSU to complete a Ph.D. In Electrical and Computer Engineering in December 2008; nevertheless, I consider myself at Applied Mathematician at heart and have continued to learn and publish Applied Mathematics since leaving MSU. Mathematics and Physical Science is a journey I began in high school, a journey I continued as an undergraduate at Penn State and as a graduate student at MSU and later as postdoc at the Naval Postgraduate School (Monterey, CA) and now at my current position in industry at Exa Corp. (Burlington, MA), where we develop computational fluid dynamics (CFD) software for the automotive, oil and gas, and aerospace industries. The courses, projects, and conversations I had during the Industrial Math program provided the foundation for this journey. There were some sharp people at MSU; not only sharp, but sharing, and compassionate, and human. I've stayed in contact with several of my classmates, and seen them take different paths through life.

Mathematics gives you the tools to predict, to question, and to test your assumptions. Everyday I learn something knew. For instance, yesterday, I learned how to express three-dimensional rotations in terms of a matrix exponential, allowing one to express reference frame transformations in multiply nested reference frames. This sounds esoteric, but the auto companies want to simulation rotating tires on a car that banks around a corner. Basic mechanics combined with high performance computing gives us the tools to tackle this problem. I've also worked on numerical weather prediction problems, and learned a little about climate change. The common language is math; the common attitude is scientific doubt.

I also learned something about teamwork in the PSM program. We all have different strengths, different limitations. The problems we face are difficult, but they are surmountable. We have to work together, to respect each other, to contribute in our way. We have to listen, and work together with a community of like-minded people. It's been almost twelve years since I stepped off the Amtrak in East Lansing on August 15, 2003, but this is what I learned, and am continuing to learn.”

Jinxuan Yan

Jinxuan Yan

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2013

Data Analyst, PCS-CTS

“It was a life-changing experience to join the PSM in Industrial Mathematics from MSU. It was totally new environment, in which I had the opportunity to take classes from the top and brilliant professors from different departments, Math, Statistics and Economic, Engineering and so on. And the most exciting thing is that I can participate in all kinds of social events to meet the industrial advisors and build my interview skills and gain valuable insights into the fields. The Industrial projects gave me a chance to gain some real industrial experiences, which has prepared me as a team player and also as a leader. With the diverse knowledge in Applied Math, Statistics and data mining and training in effective communication and leadership, I am very well prepared for my career.”

Jun Wang

Jun Wang

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2004

Data Scientist, Twitter

“After graduating from Michigan State University's PSM program in Industrial Mathematics in December 2004, I joined HSBC's Risk Management department working on loan pricing and portfolio management strategies. In 2007 I joined Google, in the 5 years following I worked in different products: business analytics, operations, marketing and business intelligence and built multiple teams along the way. Now I'm at Twitter's revenue team working on Sales Intelligence using data science. I'm sure my professional career would be completely different if I were not so well prepared by the PSM program for the industry world. During my two years in the PSM program I had the opportunity to explore my interest in a wide range of topics from economics to data mining, from bio-stats to computer science. In additional to the wide academic offerings, I also acquired enough knowledge through the certificate program on real world business skills around project management, presentation, writing, etc. -- all happening while surrounded by a group of very talented, ambitious and diverse group of students. As a student who had almost exclusively focused on academic math and near zero exposure to the business world before, the PSM degree was a major booster in both my business acumen and my self-confidence.”

Kaylee Linthicum

Kaylee Linthicum

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2011

Applied Mathematician, Supplier Management Finance, The Boeing Company

“I joined the Michigan State University PSM program in Industrial Mathematics after earning a Bachelor’s in Computational Mathematics. In addition to coursework that strengthened my core knowledge of applied mathematics, statistics, programming, and data mining, the program offered experiences with local companies which allowed me to practice these skills on real world problems. There was also a focus on clear communication which has benefitted me greatly in my career, especially when explaining technical data to non-technical colleagues. After graduating, I joined Boeing as a finance analyst in the Supplier Management Finance organization and have recently transitioned into a role as an applied mathematician working on cost models for the same organization. Throughout my time here, the skills that I developed in the PSM in Industrial Mathematics program have been recognized and allowed me opportunities to contribute to the success of my organization. As a part of the program, I participated in a Business and Communication Certificate program which exposed me to topics related to business which I have been able to build on as I spend more time in the business environment.”

Luma Vasiljevic

Luma Vasiljevic

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2006

Assistant Manager - Network Optimization Transportation Planning, Norfolk Southern Corporation

"I graduated from Michigan State University's PSM program in Industrial Mathematics in December 2006 and joined Norfolk Southern Corporation in January 2007. I was impressed by the quality and diversity of the students attracted to the PSM program. Having a strong background in theoretical mathematics, the program helped me strengthen my mathematical modeling and programming skills and exposed me to a variety of real world problems where mathematical modeling is applicable. The program also helped me improve my communication and writing skills. I believe that the skills and knowledge acquired through the PSM program lie at the core of my career success thus far; However, I believe that exposure to organizational structures and decision making processes as well as organizational data structures and actual data during the program would have eased the transition from academia to industry and made me even more effective in my role."

Matt Kowske

Matt Kowske

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2008

Senior Consultant, Operations Excellence – West Monroe Partners

Senior Solution Consultant, Manufacturing – Kronos Inc.

LEAN 6-Sigma Facility Manager, 3PL – Caterpillar Logistics

Distribution Supervisor, 3PL – Caterpillar Logistics

I graduated from the Industrial Mathematics PSM program from MSU the summer of 2008 and was recruited to a management rotational program with Caterpillar Logistics. Being a world leader in manufacturing as well as logistics, Caterpillar always searches for well-rounded and analytical talent. The PSMIM program at MSU was pivotal in providing this diverse background to take my career to the next level. The program allowed me to better understand business specific analysis; how to tailor deliverables to a specific audience; and how to communicate in a succinct way. These were critical in the next steps of my career working in a consulting capacity; firstly by designing time and labor tracking solutions for manufacturing customers across the world, and most currently by providing management consulting with a focus on customers’ operational excellence. Below are just some of the experiences I have been able to have with the help of the PSM in Industrial Mathematics program.

Functional/technical experience:
  • 6 Signma/LEAN Processes
  • Network Optimization
  • Warehouse Layout and Process Improvement
  • Data Mining and Manipulation
  • Claims Analysis
  • SAP EWM Experience
  • Software Implementation
  • Kronos Timekeeper
  • Kronos Activities
Industry Experience:
  • Mining
  • Food Processing
  • Discrete and Flow Manufacturing
  • Distribution and Warehousing
  • Workforce Management Software
Education:
  • PSM in Industrial Mathematics w/ cohort in Supply Chain Management – Michigan State University
  • Bachelor of Science, Mathematics – Michigan State University
Certifications:
  • 6 Sigma Greenbelt
Megan Baker

Megan Baker

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2013

Actuarial Analyst, Accident Fund

“I graduated from Michigan State University’s PSM in Industrial Mathematics in May 2013. This program allowed me to strengthen my communication and writing skills. I was also able to experience mathematics in more real world scenarios, including experience with local companies in projects outside of the classroom. I believe the knowledge and experience I gained from this program have allowed me to be even more successful in my career.”

Nandita Singh

Nandita Singh

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2005

Senior Manager, Customer Experience Design & Operations Strategy - Discover Financial Services

“PSM in Industrial Mathematics program prepared me to step in the corporate world where Mathematical and Statistical concepts can be applied to solve business problems. The curriculum also included project work with a Company and certification in communication skills, which immensely helped me to be successful in my career right from the beginning. Since graduation, I have been working for Financial Services Firm with focus on Customer experience, Strategic Operations, Marketing Analytics, and Risk Management.”

Ryan Bettinger

Ryan Bettinger

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2011

Earned Value/Cost Analyst, Tecolote Research, Inc.

“I graduated from the Michigan State University PSM program in Industrial Mathematics in May 2011 and joined Tecolote Research, Inc. in October 2011. The program provided the correct balance of technical prowess and business acumen allowing me to transition quickly to the field of cost analysis. The ability to translate engineering projects and designs to understandable concepts and ideas for business decision makers is fundamental to the success of any program.

The MSU PSM program demands that its graduates are accomplished technical, programmatic and effective assets to their chosen fields. The flexibility of the program permits these goals to be met while allowing all candidates to mold their studies to future desired career paths without unnecessarily pigeonholing graduates to a specific job or vocation. My successes have been greatly amplified by the training provided through the MSU PSM program. There is no comparison for the combination of technical aptitude and common business sense that is provided and learned through the course of study.”

Tarah Jensen

Tarah Jensen

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2012

“After completing my bachelor’s degree in Mathematics from Grand Valley State University, I was looking to further my education in mathematics. I desired a program that would challenge me, allow me to take a diverse group of classes, and give me resources to apply my data analysis skills in real situations. I found this program at Michigan State. As a student in the Industrial Mathematics program, I could incorporate courses in other departments, such as business and marketing, with my math courses. Seeing issues from different perspectives pushed me to be better at finding solutions to problems. In my first year, I was involved in a challenging research project with Ford Motor Credit Company. Through this project, I further developed skills that I even use to this day. As an analyst for a charter school organization, I am constantly analyzing data in new ways to provide stakeholders with important information. I know my time in the Industrial Mathematics program at Michigan State has helped me to be successful in the work I do.”

Yunyun Wei

Yunyun Wei

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2014

Software Engineer, ForteMedia, Inc.

“I am passionate about science and the disciplines of business. With the career goal of being a business and science professional in a technology-based company, right after I finished my undergraduate study in Physics in 2012, I joined the PSM in Industrial Mathematics program at Michigan State University (MSU).

During the two years’ graduate school life in the Industrial Mathematics program at MSU, I learned, worked and grew up with an inspiring advisor and an amazing group of teammates in this program. I came to work in the Bay Area, CA after I graduated. The exposure to project management during the program enables me to transit from academia to industry very quickly. In addition to technical knowledge, the work skills, particularly communication and writing skills, and the ability of presenting professionalism I acquired from this program are valuable in my work. I believe those are essential for one to keep growing in one’s career.”

Zhongping Gao

Zhongping Gao

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2011

Manager – Model Risk, Santander Bank Holding Company

“After joining the industrial mathematics program in 2009, I had invaluable experience to learn using statistics, finance, and mathematics to solve real industrial problems. Thanks to the great connection with industrial companies, I worked and learnt closely with industrial professionals on multiple projects. My career directly benefits from the mathematical skills acquired from this program. As a model risk manager at Santander bank, I am leading a team to review all model risk related projects for capital planning process, and to response regulator’s examination, which require exactly the strong mathematical and analytic skills leant from PSM. I believe that what this program offered is great combined knowledge between theory and application.”